Getting started..

So, I hope this blog helps me document my health journey. I’m sure I’ll give more backstory along the way about who am I, where I am in my health, and where I want to be.

For breakfast, I had a muffin from the batch I baked yesterday. Yesterday I checked out from my local library King Arthur Flour Whole Grain Baking and attempted my first recipe. I loosely adapted their Sour Cream muffins and added some blueberries. I’m new to baking with whole wheat flour and I wasn’t super precise in my measuring but they turned out okay. Not the best muffin I’ve ever had (that would be these!) but not bad and definitely healthier.

Then I hit up the treadmill at my apartment complex’s “gym.” There’s not much to the gym – two treadmills, an elliptical, and a few basic weight machines. I usually stick to the treadmill. I have an ongoing lower back issue that I tweaked yesterday so I didn’t feel up to trying any running today. I stuck with a 2.5 mile walk at 3.5mph on the treadmill at a 1 incline. Walking slow meant my back (and shins, another ongoing issue) didn’t hurt at all and I got a chance to start reading Tina Fey’s new book. It is seriously great – highly recommended!

For lunch, I had a whole wheat sandwich thin, some sunflower seed butter, and half a banana. I have an apple saved for a snack a little later. I’m out of spinach in my fridge so I feel lost without my daily lunch salad.

Time to get moving and clean up the apartment before Mike (the boyfriend) gets off work and comes over.  I’m taking a day off from research and running errands with him and meeting and hanging out with one of his old friends from high school tonight. No clue what’s for dinner – hopefully something with some spinach, mmm!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

